The ideal apparel to stay warm in the winter

To make the most of winter sports, it is essential to be appropriately equipped and to dress in warm clothes. If there is one thing that must not be neglected, it is your clothing. Being already frozen at the top of the first lift can shorten a ski day, leading to disappointment in regard to your visit. Here are 5 tips to help you stay warm:

AVOID FOCUSSING ON THE PRICE

First of all, you should know that it is not necessary to ruin yourself to find a good set of winter clothes capable of withstanding the cold and the wind. However, remember that the temperatures felt on the mountain can reach up to -30 degrees Celsius. So, make sure to buy a good brand having the necessary characteristics. Take the time to seek advice from the experts in-store, they will guide you according to your budget and your goal.

Before leaving the house, check out the weather conditions directly on our Weather Network page >> https://www.meteomedia.com/ca/previsions/ski-neige/quebec/station-de-ski-le-valinouet

QUALITY AND COMFORT

The rest is simple: use your common sense. Are the seams in good condition? What fabrics were used for isolation and comfort? Is it adjustable to size? Always keep in mind that you will be active. During the winter, you need clothes that will protect you from the wind and that will be water resistant, while allowing your body to breathe.

On the other hand, you should not feel trapped around your core or at your extremities. Boots that are too small or poorly adjusted will compress your feet and very quickly lead to frozen feet; the same goes for your hands. Remember to stay comfortable at all times.

MULTILAYERING AND SPARE CLOTHES

Now, let’s talk about the real deal: when we do sports, we sweat. The damp and the cold are not a good combination. Spare clothes will save you if you are soaked by midday.

In addition, remember to wear several layers in order to adjust your clothing if the temperature were to rise. Using little magic gloves beneath mittens is no longer a myth! They have proven their worth. Keep always on hand at all times—they only cost a few dollars.

Your clothing is key to enjoying your ski trip!

YOUR HEAD

In the winter, when the weather is polar, your body will naturally preserve its vital organs (heart, lungs, and brain) by reducing the blood it sends to your extremities. Protecting your head will become of utmost importance—if it is not adequately covered, you might lose 30% to 40% of your total body heat.

FINAL TIP

Avoid cotton when it comes to outdoor activities. If the fabric becomes damp, it will take more time to dry and you will lose your body heat very quickly. Heat pads such as “Hot paws” can always help, but they are most efficient when used as a preventative measure.

If you have other tips, please do not hesitate to share the article on your social networks and add your constructive comments.

On this note, we are hoping to see you on the slopes of Le Valinouët! See ya later!

Other articles

L’habillement idéal pour rester au chaud l’hiver

hiver, valinouët, habillement, vêtements chauds

Pour bien profiter des sports d’hiver, il est indispensable de bien s’équiper et de se vêtir chaudement. S’il y a une chose qu’il ne faut pas négliger, c’est votre habillement. Être déjà frigorifié une fois en haut du remonte-pente, ça peut vous écourter une journée assez rapidement et vous serez bien déçu de votre visite. Voici 5 astuces qui vous aideront à rester au chaud.

ÉVITEZ DE NE PENSER QU’AU PRIX

Tout d’abord, sachez qu’il n’est pas nécessaire de se ruiner pour trouver un bon ensemble d’hiver qui résistera au froid et au vent. Par contre, n’oubliez pas que la température ressentie peut frôler les -30 degrés Celsius là-haut. Assurez-vous donc d’acheter une bonne marque de vêtements avec les caractéristiques nécessaires. Prenez le temps de demander conseil aux experts en magasin, ils sauront vous guider selon votre budget et votre objectif.

Avant de partir, consultez la météo directement sur notre page Météo Média >> https://www.meteomedia.com/ca/previsions/ski-neige/quebec/station-de-ski-le-valinouet

LA QUALITÉ ET LE CONFORT

Ensuite, c’est simple ; faites appel à votre gros bon sens. Les coutures sont-elles en bon état? Quel tissu a été utilisé pour l’isolation et le confort? Est-il ajustable à la taille? Gardez toujours en tête que vous serez actifs. En hiver, il faut des habits qui coupent le vent, laissent respirer le corps et résistent à l’humidité.

D’autre part, vous ne devez pas vous sentir coincé ni au niveau du corps ni aux extrémités. Des pieds comprimés dans une paire de bottes trop petites ou mal ajustées attraperont froid en très peu de temps ; même chose pour les doigts. Pensez à être à l’aise en tout temps.

LE MULTICOUCHE ET LES VÊTEMENTS DE RECHANGE

Maintenant, parlons  Quand on fait du sport, on transpire. L’humidité et le froid, ça ne fait pas bon ménage. Les vêtements de rechange vous sauveront la mise si vous êtes trempé à la moitié de la journée.

De plus, pensez à porter plusieurs couches afin d’adapter votre habillement si la température se réchauffe. Les petits gants magiques en dessous des mitaines, ce n’est plus un mythe! Ils ont fait leurs preuves. Pour seulement quelques dollars, gardez-en toujours sous la main.

Votre habillement, c’est la clé pour profiter pleinement d’une sortie en ski!

LA TÊTE

En hiver, lors d’un temps glacial, le corps préservera les organes vitaux (cœur, poumons et cerveau) en réduisant le sang aux extrémités. Protéger votre tête deviendra donc primordial ; si vous ne vous couvrez pas adéquatement, vous risquez de perdre 30 à 40 % de votre chaleur.

CONSEIL FINAL

Évitez le coton lorsqu’il est question d’activités de plein air. S’il devient mouillé, il est long à sécher et vous perdrez votre chaleur corporelle très rapidement. Des chaufferettes thermiques comme les « Hot paws » peuvent toujours aider, mais elles fonctionneront beaucoup plus efficacement en prévention.

Si vous avez d’autres astuces, n’hésitez pas à partager l’article sur vos réseaux sociaux et à y ajouter vos commentaires constructifs.

Sur ce, c’est un rendez-vous sur les pentes du Valinouët! À+

Autres articles